Writing Short Stories Based Off Prompts ~ BAB Appreciation Days feat. Claire

DSC_2957

Hello friends! I’m Claire, and today I was randomly selected to be featured in BAB Appreciation Days! I was really excited, of course. After deliberating over what the perfect post idea would be, I finally decided on writing short stories based off prompts.

For those of you who don’t know, I like to write. I’ve yet to begin a novel, but I write a lot of poems and short stories. I also enjoy reading. So, I felt that this post idea would be very fun and represent me well.

Also, the stories get a little weird sometimes. But, I hope you enjoy them, nontheless!

All images from this point on are via Pinterest

“Today’s going to be a great day!” I told myself as soon as I shot out of bed.

I’d been waiting for this day for the longest time. My older sister was driving in from out of state. I hadn’t seen her in the longest time.

After I ate breakfast, I began cleaning my house. Everything had to be perfect for my sister. I scrubbed at the windows until the glistened. I swept and mopped the floors until they were so shiny, I could see my face in them. I made all the bed with fresh sheets. I even cooked my sister’s favorite meal, that was Mom’s secret recipe. It took a lot of convincing for her to give it up, but before too long, a steaming hot pot of stew was filling the air with glorious scents.

My phone rang. It must be my sister! I answered it on the first ring.

“Hello?” I greeted.

“Are you related to Michelle Peterson?”

“Yes, I’m her sister,” I replied, confused.

“There’s been a car accident. I’m so sorry to tell you this, but your sister didn’t make it,”

I dropped my phone. It shattered on the floor, but I didn’t care.

“Today was going to be a great day,”

I darted into the elevator just before the doors slid closed. “Phew,” I sighed.

“In a hurry?” a stranger asked.

“Uh, yeah,” I replied, a bit bothered that the man wanted to strike up a conversation on an elevator ride. “I’m on my way to work, it’s my first day.”

“Hey, it’s my first day too!” an overly cheerful girl piped up. “Where do you work?”

I sighed. I didn’t like sharing details with strangers. “The new hotel across the street.” I eyed the floor number. Could this elevator go any slower? I wondered.

“Me too! I guess we’re co-workers!” the peppy girl cheered.

Oh great, I thought. I get to spend everyday with little miss optimist.

The elevator stopped on floor two. My new energetic co-worker started to exit, not realizing it wasn’t our stop. I pulled her back, not wanting her to make a bad impression on her first day of work. A man strolled in. Instead of pushing a button to his floor, he turned to us and said, “So, I bet you are wondering why I’ve gathered you all here.”

Immeadiately, he pressed the emergency stop button. I gulped. Not only was I going to be late for work, but I was also stuck on an elevator with a psychopath.

“Why?” the girl who I would soon work alongside asked, as the elevator came to a screeching halt.

“Well, I can’t tell you that yet,” he replied.

I took a deep breath. I cornered the man.

“Look, we’ve all got lives to get to,” I snarled. “If there’s a good reason you’ve stranded us here, I’d like to know.”

“You all work for me now,” he replied. “I wanted to see how you did under pressure. You are doing great. The rest of you are fired.” He gestured to the rest of the crowd shivering in the corner.

I laughed. This was going to be a fun job.

My best friend called me over on a Tuesday afternoon. I was…surprised to see what I saw, to say the least. Her house, was completely missing. I gasped.

“So, um…where did your house go?”

“That’s a fantastic question.”

I stared at her. “Well, are you going to answer it?”

“I don’t know!” she replied.

“What, did it just grow legs and walk away then?”

She nodded nervously.

I sighed. “You really expect me to believe that?”

Before she could answer, her neighbor’s house literally did grow legs and walk away. We both hopped in my car and followed it. Both of us were utterly stunned.

Finally, we found the houses. They were sitting on a large patch of land. It almost looked like they’d been built there.

I glanced at my BFF. “Well, you did always want to change location,” I joked.

“That’s definitely true,” she laughed.

Once upon a time, there was a young girl. She had a very difficult life. Her mother died, her father remarried, but you all know that part. But, there’s more to every story!

After she was orphaned, Ella was forced to clean her stepmother’s mansion. She didn’t understand why the servants couldn’t do it, like they previously had. Ella was utterly miserable. Every night, she wished that someone could rescue her from her life.

One night, Ella’s stepmother and stepsisters were invited to a ball. Ella so desperately wanted to accompany them. But Ella’s stepmother forbade her.

After Ella’s stepfamily had left for the ball, her fairy godmother appeared. With a few swipes of her wand, Ella was confined to a cage, shaped just like a dress. Ella was trapped. You see, Ella’s father was a powerful magician. He stole a priceless glass slipper from the fairy godmother. As revenge, the fairy godmother vowed to kidnap Ella. Ella’s stepmother tried her best to protect her. She hid her from everyone, even the servants. But it wasn’t enough.

Luckily, one of Ella’s stepsisters had forgotten her necklace. Ella’s stepfamily returned just in time to save Ella from the fairy godmother. And they all lived happily ever after…

I hope you enjoyed those! Also, which story was your favorite? It was harder than I thought to come up with them.

9 thoughts on “Writing Short Stories Based Off Prompts ~ BAB Appreciation Days feat. Claire

Leave a comment