Aftershock S2 Episode 8 (Season 2 Finale)

Hello friends!

Today is time for the second season finale of Aftershock! There WILL be a season three guys, so don’t worry about that. I’m *hoping* that the final season will air in spring 2022, but it *could* be fall 2022, and there *could* possibly be a fourth season.

Basically, there’s a lot of maybes. But for today, here’s one last episode of Aftershock before all the craziness of the holidays. (you would not BELIEVE the things I have planned this year…more to come soon)

Let’s see…I believe we left off with Tori deciding to go to a random address? Let’s see what’s at that address, shall we?

CATCH UP ON SEASON ONE

Prologue

Episode 1

Episode 2

Episode 3

Episode 4

Episode 5

Episode 6

Episode 7

Episode 7.5 (the Christmas Special)

Episode 8

Episode 9

CATCH UP ON SEASON TWO

Episode 1

Episode 2

Episode 3

Episode 4

Episode 4.5

Episode 5

Episode 6

Episode 7

DSC_8952_1

It took a lot of courage for me to knock on the door of Glitterview Apartment number 266.

What if this is a dead-end?

I shook out the anxiety and made up my mind to just knock. There was only one way to know if I was on the right track or not.

DSC_8954_1

My heart sank as a young boy answered the door. Mr. Man had given me the wrong address. I didn’t know if that was his intention, or if she was just that good at hiding.

“Can I help you?” the child asked.

I shook my head. “I’m looking for someone, but I don’t think she lives here.”

“Oh. I can get my mom if you want,”

DSC_8955_1

“No really-”

I didn’t want to cause a scene, but the little kid was already calling for his mother.

How was I going to explain this?

DSC_8956_1

The little boy reappeared a few moments later with his mother. It took me a second to recognize her, but when I did, my jaw fell open.

“Lauren?” I couldn’t believe my eyes. “Are you-”

It was one of the few times in my life that I was at a loss for words. Shock overtook me.

I didn’t know Lauren had a kid.

DSC_8958_1

Teddy pulled me to the door, and I was surprised to see Tori standing there. She seemed utterly confused to see me, but I was equally confused to see her. How had she found us?

“Lauren?” she gasped. “Are you-”

She paused, probably unsure of how to continue. I decided to interject my own question before she could continue.

“What are you doing here?”

DSC_8959_1

Flustered, Tori forgot her own question. “I need you!” she exclaimed, throwing her hands into the air. It was then that I noticed that her left wrist was in a cast.

Something must have happened to her. I then felt a pang of guilt. Something had happened to my best friend, and I was nowhere to be found. What a friend I was.

DSC_8960_1

“Come in,” I gestured, attempting to be a gracious host. The least I could do was invite her in.

DSC_8962_1

I gave a warning look to Teddy, hoping he gathered that our powers were to be kept secret around this woman. He met my eye with a subtle wink.

DSC_8963_1

I slunk onto the sofa and patted the seat next to me for Tori to sit. Once she sat down, she fell apart.

DSC_8964_1

“Lauren, it’s awful,” she choked back a sob.

DSC_8965_1

My concern grew. “What happened?”

It was alarming to see Tori in such a state. She usually kept her emotions in check, I’d only ever seen her cry once or twice since I’d known her. 

DSC_8966_1

She finally managed to calm down enough to explain. “Pyro…burnt the plane. It was all I could do to get Andy and myself out of there in one piece. And now he’s in a coma, and I don’t know if he’ll wake up…”

DSC_8967_1

Another burst of tears overtook her as I pulled her into a loose hug. I didn’t know if her wrist was her only injury or not, but I definitely didn’t want to squeeze too hard.

DSC_8968_1

“He’ll be fine,” I reassured my friend.

My thoughts were filled with guilt. All of this was my fault. Every single piece of the blame rested on my shoulders. I was the one who recruited Pyro. I was the one who vouched for her. I was the one who left Tori and Andy to deal with her alone. Anything she did from now on was my fault.

DSC_8969_1

It wasn’t long before a few stray tears left my eyes too. “I’m sorry,”

Tori sniffled. “Why are you sorry?”

DSC_8970_1

I hesitated, but I came clean. Once I started talking, I couldn’t stop. Every last truth about my past and my absence from the team, I explained it all. I knew that I risked the hatred of Tori forever, but she deserved to know.

DSC_8971_1

She looked at me in astonishment. “I had no idea,”

DSC_8972_1

I guiltily looked down at the floor. “I should have told you sooner.”

DSC_8973_1

“Why didn’t you?”

“I was afraid you’d hate me like you do now.”

DSC_8974_1

“I don’t hate you,”

I met her eyes. She was right, there was no trace of anger in her gaze.

DSC_8975_1

“For the record, I would have kept your secret. I can’t speak for Andy, but I’m sure he would have done the same.”

I sighed. I’d been so stupid lately. I really should have trusted my team more.

DSC_8976_1

Teddy looked up at me. “This lady was from your team?”

I nodded. He’d been so quiet that I’d forgotten he was in the room.

DSC_8977_1

He walked up to Tori. “My mom always talks about how much she misses you.”

DSC_8978_1

Tori laughed, and for a moment we shared the laugh. Then, it somehow turned into crying, and we shared that too.

I had missed her more than I’d realized. At that moment, I decided to never doubt my friends. Tori and Andy had proved themselves over and over again to me. I would never lie to them again.

DSC_8979_1

Once our strong emotions had passed, Tori met my eye with a solemn gaze.

“Lauren?” she asked, I could feel the determination in her tone.

I nodded. “What?”

“I need you to help me take down Pyro. For good.”

DSC_8980_1

“Of course.”

DSC_8981_1

And with that, season two is officially a wrap! Hopefully, these guys will see you again in 2022 for more Aftershock!

But, in the meantime, some of the cast may have other projects to star in…

I will be back on Friday with a fun Fall craft! I’ll also make some announcements that I’ve been meaning to make. (possibly involving the Holiday season!)

17 thoughts on “Aftershock S2 Episode 8 (Season 2 Finale)

Leave a comment